It’s been almost a month since moving into adulthood. Breaking from the comfort of home, I’ve almost stopped noticing the trail of blood that leads up the stairwell of my apartment. I have freedom to choose what I eat and when I sleep. Maybe that’s not the best responsibility to place in my hands, with twinkies throughout the day and late nights followed by groggy mornings. I sleep alot better with the TV on, character dialect covering up my mind in a blanket of silence. The electric bill may put an end to that habit. Transitioning from full fridge and clean clothes to buying groceries and doing laundry. All these things once taken for granted now occupy my free time and give me satisfaction in completing. What a strange paradox indeed…

I’m still happy, regardless of this cloud of responsibilities hanging over my head. Soothing it is to lift my face at the cloud and crack a broad grin as it rains cooling mist on my face. Comfort is found in  the strangest of things. Like being able to reward my 3 year old daughter with her first pet for sleeping alone in her bed a whole week.

